A Little More Honest

Thanks to Brene Brown, author of the book “I Thought it was Just Me (But it Isn’t)“, I am trying to speak out some of the more vulnerable parts of my daily life that cause me to feel shame. I want to be more genuine and honest, in deeper ways with those who know me well but also in small ways as I present my life on this blog. A blog is any easy place to make one appear to have everything together, and I know I have felt shamed simply by reading mom-blogs that only presented the glorious moments of family life. And, honestly, those are the moments that I want to write down and remember for myself. But, really, mothering has been the source of some of the most frustrating, overwhelming, embarrassing, and painful moments of my life so far.

The truth is, like everybody else, I want my life to appear perfect. I want it to look like I make thoughtful decisions every time and that my kids are turning out perfect thanks to the ways that I am raising them & the wholesome foods that I am feeding them. And I want it to look like I accomplish all of this with ease. I also have a tendency to hide parts of my life that I do feel good about because I think other people would judge the decisions I am making. I anticipate feeling ashamed after sharing these aspects of my life (and have been shamed in the past), so I usually just keep those things quiet. But, really, my honesty could help others to know that they aren’t the only ones & that our struggles and failures are not shameful, they are merely human. I am blessed every time by people who are courageous enough to be real and vulnerable about their shortcomings and mistakes. So, for the sake of my children and for the sake of the people I interact with, I am committing to make that shift – in my interpersonal relationships and on this blog. It is a small thing, but it’s important to me.

Leave a Reply

