In Sickness and In Health

 

I have more to report about our New Mexico trip, but one of the defining aspects of this trip for me was how sick I felt for most of it. The week or two before the trip, I’d had a low-lying virus. I’d been having trouble sleeping and was only able to eat small amounts of food during that time. I had an appointment with my midwife the day we left for our trip, and she did some blood work, just to make sure nothing else was going on. Then, in New Mexico, I began to have more extreme symptoms – hardly being able to eat at all, not sleeping more than a few hours at night, chills, aches, and a racing pulse. We had a lovely visit with a Taos midwife who was certain  that these symptoms were most likely altitude sickness, something pregnant women are more prone to. She made some very helpful recommendations, including some herbal tinctures that were helpful with the racing pulse/panic attack feelings I was having. That was great – peace of mind and some practical solutions.

Then, that night I came down with a gastrointestinal virus that felt like more than my sleep and food-deprived pregnant body could take. After lots of tears and a difficult conversation with my Illinois midwife over the phone, we decided to go to the emergency room. This was the first time in my life that I’ve ever been a patient in the hospital. I was nervous and worried about how things would go. I praise God for a quick and reassuring visit – my vitals and the baby’s vitals were good. I was only a little dehydrated, but this did not warrant being admitted into the hospital. By the last day of our trip, I began to feel better. I even had a few hours to talk with the new friends we had gone all that way to visit. I actually felt good through the 30-hour Amtrak ride home – even feeling hungry again for the first time in nearly a month. I, personally, found the train food delicious; although, Josh assured me it was only mediocre.

Upon arriving home, my midwife insisted upon more blood work at our local hospital, making this my second ever trip to a hospital (besides my own birth). We spent about 3 hours in the Evanston Hospital (see picture above). The nurses monitored the baby, took a urine sample, and did more extensive blood work. The verdict? I am quite healthy, and the baby is doing great! My body was still in “starvation mode” (which you would never guess by my figure), so I was instructed to keep eating more food. Also, my iron was a little low, probably because I had not been able to eat very much. Other than being hungry and tired, I felt great. Honestly, I feel like this whole thing helped me to pray and to trust God more. I felt uplifted in prayer through the whole experience. Josh had a lot to juggle with a sick wife and two kids away from home, but he did an awesome job. He was there for me during many a middle-of-the-night breakdown. I am sad that I missed out on most of the fun of our vacation, but I am consoled by the fact that Josh and the kids had such a glorious time.

As a bonus, here are my 6-month pictures. The day we arrived back in Evanston, I started my 7-day intensive Thai Bodywork class (which wraps up tomorrow), so my silly pose is a yoga pose in honor of my week of yoga and massage!

2 thoughts on “In Sickness and In Health

  1. So glad to hear that you are feeling better!! When I was pregnant with my second, I had to be admitted overnight because of an AWFUL virus. It’s crazy how fast a pregnant body will get dehydrated!

Leave a Reply

