Nine Months

Well, I am 39 weeks pregnant today, so I think that counts as nine months pregnant! This picture, taken by Lilia, cracks me up. Here I am, throwing my head back, laughing as though I haven’t a care in the world…not even concerned about how hard it will be for me to return to standing after squatting down like this. I wish that I could say this is exactly how I feel. Unfortunately, I will say that I’m a little more uptight than that.

The house is clean, everything is perfectly ready, and I want it to STAY that way. Honestly, I think I would prefer to sit quietly by myself, not making messes, until the end of the pregnancy. But, that’s just not how it works when you have two vibrant children to tend to. I know I love each of them so very dearly, but today they were loud and difficult and broke down with screams and tears far more often than I could handle (and my threshold was low to begin with). My morning was actually a dream morning – quiet, productive, neat, and orderly. I even got to go on a shopping outing by myself, which is always a treat. My afternoon was exactly the opposite. But, I am thankful for my amazing husband who wrestled with the kids after dinner and is putting them to bed as I write this.

Really, all the big tasks are done. I have a short list of things I would like to do before baby arrives, but none of them are absolutely necessary…except for one thing. I would like to be centered in Jesus, peaceful in my spirit, when the time comes. I do not want to be in this flustered, annoyed, control-freak space that I found myself in tonight. Would you pray with me for this kind of peace from the Father as I enter the labor process and the newborn phase?

My second prayer request is that this baby would come in time for my mother to meet him. My mom flies into town one week from tomorrow. She will be here from the 16th to the 20th of November. We will trust in God for the perfect timing, making the most of her visit whether there is a baby or not. BUT, we would really like for her to get to meet this little guy! My due date is the 15th of November. Jedidiah and Lilia were both born in the week following my due date, so the chances seem good. Your prayers are much appreciated, though.

At my last midwife appointment, my midwife Sarah estimated the baby to be about 7.5 pounds. Both Jedidiah and Lilia were over 8 pounds at birth. This makes me think that we still have a little time to go. But, our baby boy is head down, low (maybe even dropped), and giving us signs that his arrival cannot be too far off. I praise God for a healthy pregnancy and trust Him for all that is to come.

Here is the official nine months picture, plus a sweet pic (instead of a silly one) as the final pregnancy snapshot:

4 thoughts on “Nine Months

  1. We will be praying for you and your precious family!! I feel in some way close to your tummy since I got to see you so much with Jedi! You may not feel cute……but you are!!

Leave a Reply

