Troubleshooting Colic

screaming-baby

I have never understood colic. Honestly, I’m not quite sure I believed that it was a real thing. The definition is so obscure…

Colic: a condition of a healthy baby in which it shows periods of intense, unexplained fussing/crying lasting more than 3 hours a day, more than 3 days a week for more than 3 weeks.

But, when our little Simeon remained a fussy babe week after week, people started throwing out the term. It’s a good thing he’s our third baby, though, because I hadn’t really felt very worried or even frustrated. Despite daily crying spells and trouble burping after eating, I was still enjoying every moment of his cute, chubby, baby self. And, when he did settle down, he was such a cuddly little fellow that I couldn’t help but be in love with him.

At my 6 week post-partum visit (which was really 8 weeks after Simeon was born), my midwife and her assistant both expressed a little concern about this prolonged fussiness and gassiness. They helped me to work on his latch some, after noticing that he was getting a little air while nursing. They also highly recommended a chiropractor in the area.

At that point, I decided to focus a little more on helping our sweet babe to feel better. I had been doing infant massage with him daily since he was born. So, I started a regular routine of massaging him in the evenings and then giving him a calming bath. I also made a point to work on his latch more directly. The massages and baths helped some, but the the latch was still not improving.

So, we went to the chiropractor. I have to admit that I was skeptical, and, even now, the whole thing seems a bit mysterious.

BUT, it worked.

The chiropractor said that Simeon was especially tight on one side of his body (this could have been the result of something in utero or part of the birth experience – it’s hard to know). With a few gentle touch adjustments with breaks between them, the chiropractor made a world of difference. Simeon went to see her 4 or 5 times in all, and now he doesn’t need to go back.

And, it’s like we have a different baby! I mean, he is still super sweet and cuddly…but now he is also happy and smiley and rarely fussy. And, because he has no trouble burping, he goes right back to sleep after eating….which MEANS that we’re getting a whole lot more sleep around here!

Just yesterday, I said to Josh, “Remember when we thought Simeon was our fussy baby?” And he, like me, had already kinda forgotten about how hard it was there for a few weeks.

What a blessing to see such a change so quickly. Oh, and the adjustments have even improved Simeon’s latch a great deal. I have to say, this chiropractor really won me over.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Troubleshooting Colic

Leave a Reply

