Kid Quotes

One day, we were walking to the beach. Our 4-year-old neighbor Jacoah was with us, and he was riding his bicycle. At one point, he was having trouble getting up a hill, and I said (about his bicycle), “Do you wanna walk it?” Immediately, Simeon replied emphatically from his stroller: “I wanna walk it!”

One day recently, I complimented Lilia on how quickly she was dressed in the morning – she was even dressed before everyone else! She replied, rather snobbishly, “You guys should really start laying out your clothes.”

Lilia (to Josh who was looking at jeans at a thrift store): “Hmmm…I don’t think jeans are your type.” (as a side note, I’ve been following some of Carol Tuttle’s advice on “Dressing Your Type,” so I think this is where she came up with the term.)

Lilia and I were talking about all of the possibilities of what she could be when she grows up. She liked the idea of being a pilot or a horseback rider. She was open to any possibility – teacher, president, anything…Until I said “astronaut.” She laughed and said, “No way!!” She was very sure she did not want to be an astronaut. When I asked her why, she said, “Because astronauts go to outer space and that’s where Star Wars is!” She finds Star Wars super scary and doesn’t want to have anything to do with it.

From awhile back…Lilia and I were picking out hot dogs at the grocery store, and she said, “Ooh! I want the Rock-in-saw ones!” It took me quite a bit of effort to figure out what she meant. Finally, she pointed to the package and said, “See! Rock-in-saw!!” It was the Boar’s Head brand with an image of a boar’s head on the package. This reminded her of the Arkansas Razorbacks, but she had forgotten the pronunciation of Arkansas and was calling it “Rock-in-saw.” We liked the ring of the new word, and we use it often now.

And, here’s our funny girl posing at the beach recently…

P1010316

 

3 thoughts on “Kid Quotes

Leave a Reply

